Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Sunrun system has been offline for 2 months

Sunrun system has been offline for 2 months
Update by user May 06, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with discount on future orders. Once corporate found out about issue through my complaints, repairs to system happened very quickly.

And Sunrun credited my account $500.

The People from corporate back East were wonderful. The local rep, not so much..

Original review posted by user Apr 06, 2022
Sunrun installed solar panels on my roof in the Spring of 2019. Since then the system has gone down twice for extended periods of time. The latest time was mid-February 2022. I only learned, via my very large SDG&E bill, that my panels have generated no electricy since February 17, 2022, if not earlier. I contacted Sunrun customer service on March 23rd and I was informed that you will contact me in 3 to 5 days. It is now April 6th and I still have not heard from anyone. In addition to these two lengthy outages in the space of less than three years, I learned during the last outage that one of my panels was not connected for the first year I was renting the panels. I having paying a monthly rental fee since May of 2019 and during that time the panels have been off line for more than three months total - and counting. Shouldn't I receive a credit for not receiving the services for which I contracted? And how do I get someone from the company to get the panels generating elecricity again?

User's recommendation: stay away from Sunrun, stay far away.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3465143 Review #3465143 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lake Forest, California
Cons
  • Misleading
  • Slow ineffective customer service
  • No interest in providing customer service
Loss
$450
Preferred solution
refund of monthly rental charge for the time the system has been offline and get the system back to generating electricity ASAP!

Worst experience ever

I decided on solar because my brother has solar in PR and his experience with it it's been exceptional. So he was my guide going into solar. However, SUNRUN customer service has been the opposite of his experience. It's been five months since I signed the contract, three since the panels were installed and the system is not even on. I've called, emailed the project manager in charge asking for the status and crickets. Called the customer service number and since the system is not on yet, "there is nothing they can do about it". I was told two months ago that someone will get back with me, well I'm still waiting. I asked what to do about cancelling the contract and since the panels are already installed, they said that is not an option. DO NOT MAKE MY SAME MISTAKE!! Stay away...
View full review
ID
#3715591 Review #3715591 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
New Reviewer
Original review updated by user Jun 28, 2022
I have been waiting since May for these lazy people to fix my solar panels. It was only discovered when I was having my roof replaced that it hadn't been working at 100% when the roofing team reinstalled the solar. So much for Sunrun monitoring my system. Their...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3713078 Review #3713078 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Marcos, California
Cons
  • Ceo apparently has no authority or bad leadership
  • Technical incompetence
  • Unwilling to follow their agreement
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Not what i promised and the biggest mistake i ever did

The only time the panels ever work like the should was for the first year if that.biggest scam .i called many times to you gies times to come look at the panel to see if there working proper but after calling after waiting for half hour and many calls.they work fine from her mr rego your all set they said. Ive contacted mike jordan many times and he never called back.but he was there to pick up when we singed the contract.i spoke to him maybe one or twice the time we singed with this company. always had to call customers service witch is no help because they never keep there promises .its all bull.they said we will have some one call you later today to schedule a appointment. I had to make several calls to get my solar panels back on my roof and now no one calls back to solve my problem . There was payments i was suppose to get reimbursed for one year still havent heard anything.had a claim on the roof because of all the panels they put up had leaks.never heard back from that after calling many times.there was also year or two ago they forgot to turn the panels back on for one month witch we still havent got reimbursed for.i still get charged evey month with no panels on my roof for one year and finally get them on and the company just leaves and yet been one week and no call after i called.still waiting.they also were suppose to put animal gaurds on the panels and said got to make another appointment after saying we wanted them on.now got to wait on more year.wish i never signed with vivid solar or sun run.changed the name for all the complaints every one mass o wait the US .iam paying more now then i did before i had panels .iam made a call to my lawyer and fileing a claim to the better business burial.

User's recommendation: No way.

View full review
ID
#3697312 Review #3697312 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Winchester, Massachusetts
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
All the apove

Service tech missed the agreed upon appointment time

I made a service appointment because my solar was not registering any production. The time that was set required me to take time off from work. when I got home, I found out from my niece that the service technician actually came to the house three hours early and since I was not there, he just left. I had to reschedule the appointment for the next morning. My frustration stems from the fact that I had to take time off from work to make it to the appointment and your tech did not bother to meet at the agreed upon time (amazingly inconsiderate). The following morning the second tech did resolve the issue.
View full review
ID
#3645390 Review #3645390 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California
New Reviewer

Company not delivering savings as promised

My name is Jubal Dunnigan and i reside at 111 sunset drive, glen burnie md 21060. 443-962-****...This is another attempt to get a resolution to my solar panel issue. 5 years ago your company came into our neighborhood trying to get everyone to switch to solar and get the benefit of lower energy cost. At least thats what we were told. your saleman showed us copies of BGE bills and numerous reports and literature. We were guaranteed our electric bill would be cut in half saving us atleast 100.00 a month. After many issues getting the panels installed correctly and functioning i had yet to see any savings. After many phone calls,emails and text messages...one of your employees reached out and said he had the solution to us not seeing any savings.The original schematics called for panels on both sides of the roof but were only installed on one side. So after the conversation your company came by and installed more panels. The only thing this did was create another bill for me to pay...one which was hidden from me until it became overdue. Now i am billed for both sets of panels costing me an extra 130.00 a month in electric bills. BGE shows that the panels are offsetting the bill by 40.00 and you are charging me 170.00 on average. Where are my savings i was guaranteed? Instead of giving me what you promissed you came up with another way to increase my electric bill. You have not lived up to your side of this agreement! If your panels were removed i would save 130.00 a month. Someone needs to come by my home and find out why these panels are not performing and saving me money like your company guaranteed me it would. Or remove all the panels and we will part ways. I have been very patient and its been long enough. And the only reason i let these new panels be installed is because your employee guaranteed me that would make the difference...not let you charge me a seperate bill and double my bill. This needs to be resolved one way or another. if i dont see a resolution in the next few weeks i will go a different route to get it resolved.

User's recommendation: avoid sunrun.

View full review
ID
#3640114 Review #3640114 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Cons
  • Not producing savings as promised
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
either start saving me money on my electric as guaranteed or remove all panels and part ways
New Reviewer

Panels overproducing power for home for last 4 years. have called sunrun and have repetitive non help and answers. I now have a $2400.00 credit with my energy co. where I can only use as credit,

sunrun refuses to acknowledge any responsibility for the problem. they originally put too many panels on the house, which at the end of the year I had a credit with the energy co. it has been going up every year and now I have a $2500. credit with the energy co which is only good for credit not cash. sunrun's denying of any responsibility i think is unprofessional, unethical and basically poor business. give this company 0 stars. It seemed that nobody could or would hear my problem. Bob
View full review
ID
#3629971 Review #3629971 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Arlington, Massachusetts
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

VERY Misleading information ( Downright lying about cost )

Update by user May 26, 2022

Nothing has been resolved at this time but on Thursday May, 26 2022 I have an appointment with my Attorney to discuss this misleading mess.

Original review posted by user May 26, 2022
How many ways can you say someone lied to your face? Just so that they could make a SALE! I drive a TOYOTA they drive a brand new MERCEDES-BENZ!

User's recommendation: When Sunrun comes to your door SLAM the door in their in their face!

View full review
ID
#3610508 Review #3610508 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Porterville, California
Cons
  • Cons
  • Misleading
Preferred solution
Their solar panels off of my roof ASAP

Fast lies of service promises. *** response time. Do not watch system as stated. Cannot talk to a human with a brain. They will not transfer to a helpful person, maybe they don't have any.

Inverter took over 2 months to replace! *** compensation. Now, it says I have 20% cloud cover in the Mojave desert in May and my system is working? Sheer!Eun BS and disappointment. *** *** customer service

User's recommendation: Run away.

View full review
ID
#3539439 Review #3539439 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
East Jordan, Michigan
New Reviewer

To cancel my lead

I need to cancel my lead immediately for 2307 Rivergate Dr., California Riverbank California my name is Ralph Volpe
View full review
ID
#3530350 Review #3530350 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Riverbank, California
New Reviewer

Terrible Customer Service, stole 600 KwH

Sunrun - Terrible Customer Service, stole 600 KwH
Original review updated by user Apr 27, 2022
I was a vivint customer. During the merger, I noticed they showed my lifetime production nearly 600 kwh. After many attempts with customer service and FB messenger messages, they acknowledged that this is a data error and would be fixed. Its been 7 months and no ownership of the issue, no response, no nothing and I am still missing my 600 kwh. I have no idea if I will ever get this fixed. I am terrified to think what will happen if there is a problem with the system - their customer support is non-existent or utterly incompetent..

User's recommendation: RUN AWAY FROM SUNRUN.

View full review
ID
#3521590 Review #3521590 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Middletown Township, New Jersey
Pros
  • There are no good things to say about them
Cons
  • Horrible customer service wait times on hold follow thru
  • Incomplete work poor communication lack of follow through
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Everything

Very difficult to contact them for help with any problems. I pay extra every month, above what I paid for the utility, PLUS we had to pay to have the panels removed and replaced when we re-roofed, PLUS we have to buy them out at hugely inflated prices in order to sell our home. Because no one wants these panels.

User's recommendation: Don't. Just do not use Sunrun.

View full review
ID
#3485837 Review #3485837 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Jose, California
New Reviewer

One pile of *** company

Get my *** system working and everyone else's that have their systems down you worthless *** Your *** excuses are not going to work! Class action lawsuit time? Or time to put you out of business? You make the call. You are the most worthless Solar company around. If you can't service your *** Quit selling! Enough is enough.

User's recommendation: Never ever use company!

View full review
ID
#3474364 Review #3474364 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Sunrun has ignored our emails & phone calls.

On Jan 15, 2022, we received our first Sunrun bill covering the period Nov 18-Dec 18, 2021, although the system was improperly wired and we were only producing a minimum amount of KWH. A technician came to our home, discovered the problem, and corrected it. Our Sales Rep, Stephen Wilson, promised we would be compensated for the first bill since our system was not working properly during the first billing period. I have not previously contacted Sunrun directly because our sales Rep. Stephen Wilson advised us to deal with him directly, and assured us it was being taken care of, However it has now been three months and our emails and phone calls are now being ignored. I have all the emails between Stephen and myself verifying the original complaint and Stephens assurances that we would be taken care of. I would be more than happy to share those emails with an attorney if Sunrun does not contact us and take care of this problem immediately. I certainly hope this is not the usual customer service provided by Sunrun.

User's recommendation: We just paid our 4th bill to Sunrun. The first three bills were higher than the corresponding bills for the same period a year ago when we paid FPL directly. I understand it will take some time to produce an adequate number of kwh at this time of year when the sun is not always shining, but I do not expect to be billed BEFORE the system is even properly up and running! I think we will be happy with Sunrun, but I'm VERY disappointed in their customer service. If you have a problem, don't expect to get a response.

View full review
ID
#3463890 Review #3463890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palm Bay, Florida

Solar not working Since January 30 2022

It took two week to get anyone out to see what the problem was. They had to order a part, and they still have not received it. The Company has not called me back once about the status of the part or an explanation. I have called them at least 4 times in the last two months. The phone representatives are very nice and and call the warehouse and tell me that the warehouse will get back to me within twenty-four hours, but they never do.
View full review
ID
#3450699 Review #3450699 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Roseville, California

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Pigeons

I've had solar with your company since 2019. I've been reaching out multiple times to sunrun to no avail. I need netting or screens placed around my panels to keep the pigeons from nesting under them. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated
View full review
ID
#3419675 Review #3419675 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Goodyear, Arizona
Pros
  • Great technology
  • Good talkers
Cons
  • No interest in providing customer service
  • Do not care about customers
  • Unable to provide contracted services
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article