Pamela W Ixd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bodega Bay, California

Sunrun ruined my home!

Updated by user Apr 11, 2024

Sunrun keeps passing the buck to another “Customer Care” team member who assures me of resolution…yatta, yatta, yatta….NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE!

Original review Apr 11, 2024
Sunrun drilled multiple holes through my natural-wood, open-beam ceiling, did not install electrical panel to code, and did not re-attach stovepipe tie downs. I have roof leaks and ceiling and beam water damage. Ive been seeking resolution since installation 5 years ago. Theyre Customer Care team has been jerking me around the whole time; passing me from one CC representative to another. Now, Im going to get a lawyer!!!
View full review
Loss:
$11720
Cons:
  • All of the above

Preferred solution: Panels removed. New Roof! Financial compensation.

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM SUNRUN!

Jim H Yws

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Case Reference: 1384****

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun - Case Reference: 1384****
Brandon, After a frustrating two years simply trying to get you to do your job and provide us with a date and time a Sunrun representative will come to our home at 72275 Upper Way West, Palm Desert, CA 92260 (gate code: #02860), I have reported your unresponsiveness and unprofessionalism to your Supervisor, Dale Christian (who appears to have done nothing about it. Same as Anne of the Sunrun Support Team [Case Reference: 1384****] who promised to have the Head of your Department call me to rectify this situation within 72 hours, which of course, never happened. Sunrun and its people appear to have a total lack of accountability. Our Sunruns solar panels are only producing at about 50% of capacity and as an attorney I need to ensure you realize that you and Sunrun are in a material breach of our agreement within which Sunrun covenanted to keep our solar panels repaired and replaced, as necessary. That is obviously not being done. We are flying back to Canada on April 3, 2024 and need to have this assessment and replacement completed before then. If that is not completed within that time frame I will be providing the most honest, scathing and well distributed reviews of Brandon Gonzalez, Dale Christianson and, of course, Sunrun. It is only fair that others be informed of what a nightmare your organization has been to work with. The background of this fiasco will also be communicated to the bulletin boards discussing the value, or lack thereof, of Sunruns stock and trading price on Nasdaq. Investors need to know that they should stay out of, or get out of, any Sunrun stockholdings as any company with this lack of accountability and customer service is certain to fail. I will further do my best to reach the CEO of Sunrun, outline the terrible customer service we have received from you and strongly recommend that you and Dale be immediately terminated for incompetence in carrying out your job descriptions. It leaves such a black mark on the company. Send me the date and time a Sunrun representative will attend our home and complete the repair and replacement of our solar panels prior to the end of March, and ensure that actually happens and we will not need to go to War. If it is not completed within that time frame, I will be sharing the details of this super frustrating fiasco with all my contacts and the entire internet so that everyone else will be well informed never to do business with Sunrun. Just do it.
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH SUNRUN. LOT'S OF PROMISES. TOTAL LACK OF FOLLOW UP AND ACCOUNTABILITY.

1 comment
Guest

please keep us posted on your account.. Im at wits end also..

Lisa L Saq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Dracut, Massachusetts

Do NOT Purchase from SUNRUN Solar System constantly breaking down!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 01, 2024

NEVER - AND I WILL CONTINUE TO WARN PEOPLE ABOUT THEM

Original review Mar 30, 2024
I originally signed a contract with Vivint, who was later bought out by Sunrun. I had no choice in that decision - yet here I am in SUNRUN *** The system has broken down every year since it was installed. I have spent countless hours trying to resolve the issues. They actually posted an incorrect contract on my account that showed a decrease in guaranteed production. This did not match the one I signed at the onset. Any credit generated by the solar when it is working is eaten up during the times it is not working. Sunrun has basically sold me a system that has a negative value. Any credit due is only given annually - so you still pay monthly for a service you are not receiving. I have never dealt with such a horrible product in my life!
View full review
Cons:
  • System constantly breaks down - it is a net loss

Preferred solution: REMOVAL OF SOLAR PANELS

User's recommendation: DO NOT BUY FROM SUNRUN

Veronica B Emx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Marlborough, Massachusetts

Roof Damaged & Product not working!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun - Roof Damaged & Product not working!!
Sunrun - Roof Damaged & Product not working!! - Image 2
Sunrun - Roof Damaged & Product not working!! - Image 3
Sunrun - Roof Damaged & Product not working!! - Image 4
We found out that our roof was damaged by Sunrun installer. We had some water sipping thru bcs of the holes they made. We also installed additional panels that werent working but being charged. Very frustrating!
View full review
Loss:
$1400
Pros:
  • Good when it works
Cons:
  • Slow to give us solutions

Preferred solution: Properly repair the roof and refunds/credits for the fees but also the extra charges from SCE for extra energy

User's recommendation: Complain directly to Atty General

Steve E Qyc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bellaire, Texas

Damage to my lawn

Sunrun - Damage to my lawn
Sunfun van drove thru my yard while turning around to service their system next door. I pressure washed 14 days ago and have guests coming. They made an awful mess. I'm still waiting to hear from a Sunrun manager. I have pics. Spent hours to repair and it won't be right for 2 years! Can't buy St. Aug sod this time of year. Their person who did it didn't stop but after I confronted him, he was very concerned. Shame that Sunrun mgmt is not concerned
View full review
Mike S Hhj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Aurora, Colorado

I need my solar panels re-installed.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
In June of 2023 I had a new roof installed and my solar panels taken off the house. I have not been able to get your company to re-install the panels since the completion of the new roof in July. I have contacted my contact person several times and the only explanation I get is they are waiting for a building permit. FOR SIX+ MONTHS? I need help and can't get anyone to answer my emails. I, also, have received no help over the phone. Just a continued run-around.
View full review
Rhema Hoj
map-marker Banning, California

Sunrun has not replaced equipment per lease terms

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
For almost 2 years our system has been disabled, by Sunrun. We live in the desert, and we are due thousands of dollars for the energy we have had to pay for, yet Sunrun continues to bill us and have not replaced the system. We have contacted the CA State Attorney General (Sunrun is a California Company) . If enough people complain, the Attorney General will take action. THe link to file a complaint: https://oag.ca.gov/contact/consumer-complaint-against-business-or-company
View full review

User's recommendation: Run from Sunrun.

Deanna M Wji

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Credit

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I spoke with someone approximately almost two weeks ago regarding a credit on my account due. In January I had panels that were not working they told me someone would call me in a few days and I have yet to hear from anyone they told me I will get an email and no email. I called now 3 times but yet I see a bill from you all pending to come out in February. Help me understand why no one has reached out in regards to my credit yet. Unacceptable business.
View full review
Cons:
  • Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Undecided

Anonymous
map-marker Los Angeles, California

Sunrun seems not to care about our problem.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We tried to buy out our contract. According to their contract which would be 20K, but when we called them to buy out they told us our buy out would be 40K. Our roof leaks. They told us when we entered the contract all we would have to pay would be $500.00 to have them remove the solar panels and reinstalled after repairs. I asked them to remove the solar, so I could have the roof fixed. They told me it would cost $12,000.00 to remove the panels, a new roof would cost $12,000.00. So now we are talking $24,000 to fix our roof. I would never use them or recommend them. It looks like i will have to find an attorney to have this removed from our roof.
View full review

User's recommendation: stay away

Alexander A Hft

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Damaged roof after re install

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun - Damaged roof after re install
Sunrun - Damaged roof after re install - Image 2
Sunrun - Damaged roof after re install - Image 3
Sunrun - Damaged roof after re install - Image 4
Updated by user Oct 19, 2023

I have contacted sunrun on multiple occasions and they still have yet to respond

Original review Oct 12, 2023
I had a new roof installed and when sun run came back out to re install panels they damaged the new roof I have been trying to get someone on the phone and they keep telling me I have a new case manager , this is the 3rd one that they have assigned and I am not getting anywhere ,seems like no one at sun run cares , my yard was my storage for 3 months and I had to pay my electric bill and solar bill after they told me I should not be getting a solar bill, my solar sat submerged in water and I sent them pictures with them sitting in the water and they stated that they are ok , I have a mass of emails and nothing is getting done !!! THEY ARE NOT THE BEST COMAPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE GOES A LONG WAY!!!
View full review
Cons:
  • No communication

Preferred solution: get my roof fixed

Featured
Terri D Zra

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Pasadena, Maryland

Service doesn't even deserve a one. (Big mistake)

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun - Service doesn't even deserve a one. (Big mistake)
Sunrun - Service doesn't even deserve a one. (Big mistake) - Image 2
i I needed a new roof, contacted Sunrun for a removal and reinstall. I was given a quote for $9860. Sunrun removed my 59 panels, placed them on 3 skids in placed in my driveway. It is going on 4 months and still sitting in my newly asphalt driveway, I haven't been able to park my car in my garage for 4 months. I have 47 emails and text and records of my phone calls asking for help with this issue. I have been told by 2 of Sunrun employee's the time frame is because of the leak employee's. When ask who paying for these panels marking my new driveway that I paid $8000. I was told today 7/25 by Ms. McCoy R&R Case Manager, Removal & Reinstall to call customer service to have them removed if I was unhappy that I need to sign a termination agreement. Afterward, they will come remove it from my driveway. The joke on my street is how much are you charging Sunrun for storage of their equipment. I have tried and talked to over 6 different departments trying to park in my driveway and for Ms. McCoy to tell me if I don't like her reply is saying to void my contract. This whole mess has really made me an angry customer. 4 months to have panels put back on a roof, I beat if this was a new customer it won't take 4 months. My $178.00 a month is nothing to Sunrun it's the new installs where they make their money.
View full review
Loss:
$9860
Cons:
  • Service

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: (NONE) if anyone would like to talk about making a decision, please email tmrd14@***.com e

Patricia C Cvp

Waiting for curiosity check

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I was working with Britney. I was given dates to when my solar would be put in. No one ever showed up on those dates. This had been going on since March 4, 2023! My solar wasnt put in until July 17, 2023. On July 17th, Britney said she was able to get me a $500. Rebate for all the inconvenience I had been through. Missing work for appointments that no one showed and the run around I was given by my first rep. To this date I have not received a check for the compensation! I have had Sunrun before and never went through anything like this time. Your Reps are no help and seems to be incompetent in their positions! I would like this resolved ASAP! Patricia Checchia 95 Wallace Rd Fitchburg, MA 01420
View full review

Preferred solution: My check for $500.!

Juan S Noc
map-marker Long Beach, California

I need my documentation for taxes

Im doing my taxes right now and I need my documentation for my taxes. I cant find them in my emails and thats why Im asking for them
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Bloomington, Illinois

Long installation

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My solar panels have been installed and have waited over 2 months for them to be up and running. I have told Cameron nau that I am canceling. I dont get updates. I want them off the roof. I have posted on Instagram and now Facebook. Plus 2 of my neighbors are now going a different route and contacting a different company. Just keep losing business. I told Cameron either you guys take them off or I am. And I just actually took Friday off to get those off the roof myself. Come pick them up on the curb. They will be there this weekend. I am doing, posting, and telling everyone what a *** company you guys are.
View full review

User's recommendation: Stay away from SunRun.

Lee W Uyu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Misled and extorted

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun has repeatedly lied and misled us during the process of service transfer and quote for temporary removal and reinstallation of our solar panels. We needed the roof to be replaced before recent rains to avoid rain damage and was promised a quote for the removal and reinstallation of the panels so the roof work could be done before damage. A case was never opened. We are now told to pay almost $3800 for the service of removal and reinstallation of the panels. This is unacceptable. They need to pay for the removal and reinstallation of the system.
View full review

Preferred solution: I need someone in management to contact me and arrange for the removal and re-installation of the panels at no cost while coordinating with our roofing contractor. I will need this person's desk line so I do not have to remain on hold again.

Susan W Dgk

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bakersfield, California

Disappointed

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Sunrun - Disappointed
I was excited to be able to cut the cord and be free from SCE billing come to find out...I'm not. My power got shut off by SCE anyway even after switching over to solar. Mom is on oxygen but nobody at Sunrun would do anything and told me their hands were tied and for me to speak with SCE about it...HUH?
View full review
Pros:
  • As i see it
  • There are no pros
Cons:
  • Deception

Preferred solution: Why did Sunrun allow my power to be shut off and not say anything before I agreed to the contract!?!?!?

User's recommendation: Do more research before signing anything

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article